Texas Occupational Driver License
is an occupational license?
An occupational license is a special
restricted license issued to persons whose license has been suspended or revoked
for certain offenses (other than medical reasons or delinquent child support). An
occupational license authorizes the operation of a non-commercial motor vehicle
in connection with a person's occupation, for educational purposes or in the
performance of essential household duties. Requests for such licenses are
made to the county or district court in the county of the licensee's residence
or to the court of original jurisdiction where the offense occurred. Texas
Transportation Code Section 521.242, 37
Texas Administrative Code 15.7.
Is the court order the occupational license?
No, this is the order granting the occupational license. The court order and all other required items need to be submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so an occupational license can be issued. The court order may be used as a license for 30 days from the date of the judge's signature while DPS processes the occupational license.
you drive a commercial motor vehicle with an occupational license?
No, if a person's driver license or
privilege is suspended, revoked, cancelled, or denied under any law in this
state, the person may not be granted an occupational or essential need license
to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Texas
Transportation Code 522.086, Texas
Transportation Code 522.089.
What are the requirements for the occupational license?
The certified copy of the petition and a certified copy of the court order
granting the occupational license.
An original pink SR-22 certificate of insurance. This is the only proof of
license fee for a one-year license or less. The maximum length of
issuance is a 2-year license, provided that the court order grants this length
A statutory reinstatement
fee for the Safety Responsibility suspension, if required.
A statutory reinstatement fee for the Driver Improvement suspension, if required.
A statutory reinstatement fee for the Administrative License Revocation (ALR), if required.
(All required reinstatement fee(s) must be paid prior to the issuance of the occupational license. 37 Texas Administrative Code 15.7)